NanaStack Newsletter · Issue #009

The Weekly Stack

sharper tools, sharper rules.

October 19, 2026 · 5 min read · 10 stories

This week's signal is a pincer: agent AI gets dramatically more capable — 30-second listing videos from a single photo, chatbots that edit your website, AI voice agents that work your leads, and an open MCP connection to 160 million property records — while the rules around every one of those capabilities tighten. D.C. moves to require disclosure of AI-edited listing photos with fines up to $2,500, on top of California's altered-image law already in force. Senators Booker and Warren ask the FTC to investigate the portal 'contact agent' buttons that route buyers to platform-affiliated agents without disclosure. And Compass and CRMLS trade lawsuits over who controls how listings reach the public, with Compass offering to pay its agents' MLS fines. The pattern: power is being handed to agents at the fastest rate in years, and the accountability for how it's used is being nailed down just as fast.

A camera lens exploding into creative energy on one side, and a balance scale caught inside a rigid measurement grid on the other
A framed house photograph peeling open and unfurling into a long film strip of glowing property-photo frames
01

Make it shine

Tools that make every listing look irresistible.

3 stories

NewVideo & Visual

D.C. joins the crackdown on AI-edited listing photos — fines up to $2,500

On October 16, Inman reported that D.C.'s City Council is considering the 'Restricting Editing and Alterations in Listing Photos Amendment Act of 2026,' a consumer-protection bill requiring agents, brokers, and property managers to disclose AI-edited or AI-generated listing photos, include the unedited originals, and provide a written list of the 'material differences' between the altered image and the property's actual condition. Sponsor Councilmember Christina Henderson said AI-altered listings 'have become common practice in the District.' Enforcement would run through the District's licensing department, with fines up to $2,500. D.C. is the third legislature to move this way: California's altered-image law took effect at the start of 2026 (disclosure and unedited originals required; willful violations can bring MLS fines and a misdemeanor charge with a fine of up to $10,000), while New York's assembly and senate are considering bills A11365 and S9584 covering AI-altered images and 3D walkthroughs. Even where no law exists, NAR's Code of Ethics (Articles 2 and 12) bars exaggerating, misrepresenting, or concealing a property's pertinent facts and requires a true picture in advertising.

Why it matters

This is the compliance frame around every AI-visual workflow in this section. If you virtual-stage, AI-edit, or generate listing media, build disclosure into the workflow now: keep unedited originals, write down exactly what's altered, and put the label where the viewer sees it. The direction is one-way — from California to New York to D.C., the grace period is closing.

Source: Inman — report (Oct 16) ↗

NewVideo & Visual

Kling 4.0 launches globally — 30-second AI video that can turn listing photos into walkthroughs

On October 16, Kling AI (Kuaishou) launched Kling 4.0 globally, its flagship video-generation model. Headline upgrades: native 30-second single-pass generation (double Kling 3.0's 15 seconds), up to 10 keyframes and 15 multimodal reference inputs (images, video, audio), steadier complex camera moves (push-ins, pans, tracking, orbit shots), prompts expanded to 8,000 tokens, and 10-bit HDR at 4K/1080p plus a 21:9 ultrawide format listed as 'coming soon.' The company claims more than 100 million users and 50,000-plus enterprise customers worldwide — company figures, not independently verified. The real-estate hook: 30 seconds is roughly a full listing-video length, and keyframe control maps directly to the camera moves a listing video is already built from — photo-to-video without a shoot. Kling also announced its models are coming to Adobe Firefly, including Kling 4.0 and a 4.0 Flash variant. Per-generation pricing for Kling 4.0 was not disclosed at launch.

Why it matters

The barrier between 'have listing photos' and 'have a listing video' just collapsed to a prompt. Test it on a low-stakes listing first — measure saves, shares, and showing requests before making it standard. And read the D.C. bill story above before publishing anything it generates: an AI video that moves through rooms is, legally, an edited image with a runtime.

Source: Kling AI — company release (Oct 16) ↗

NewVideo & Visual

A practitioner's playbook: using Kling 4.0 for listing video without breaking California's photo law

On October 18, creator Leo Robles published a compliance-first how-to for using Kling 4.0 in agent video work. His framework: treat any AI-generated listing video as an altered image — label it, keep originals available, check with the broker — and stick to five 'safe' uses (neighborhood mood videos, explainer clips, agent intro videos, labeled listing teasers with camera-move-only animation, and storyboarding for real shoots). He includes copy-paste prompts, including a 15-second labeled listing teaser that instructs the model not to add, remove, or change objects, colors, landscaping, or views, and to overlay an 'AI-generated video from listing photos' label. He also notes CRMLS goes further than California's law: the original must appear directly before or after, and AI-generated landscaping is not permitted even with a label. This is a single author's reading, not legal advice.

Why it matters

This is the workflow answer to the first two stories: yes, the tool works — here's the operating procedure that keeps the license attached to it. The five-safe-uses list is worth stealing wholesale: it channels AI video into the marketing tasks where disclosure risk is lowest and keeps it away from misrepresentation.

Source: Leo Robles — Substack guide (Oct 18) ↗

A glowing house radiating listing cards across a tangle of broadcast beams and screens
02

Get it seen

Tools that put every listing in front of the right eyes.

3 stories

NewMarketing Stack

Compass countersues CRMLS over listing rules — and will pay agents' MLS fines

On October 16, Compass filed an antitrust complaint against California Regional MLS (CRMLS) in the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California — less than two weeks after CRMLS sued Compass in New York (S.D.N.Y.) over the same dispute, and about five weeks after Compass sent the MLS a demand letter (September 8) with an October 6 compliance deadline. Compass calls CRMLS's cooperation rules 'competition-blocking' for fining agents who publicly market homes off the MLS even at a client's lawful written direction — fines Compass says run up to $2,500 — and alleges the rules have cost the company 'hundreds of millions of dollars in harm,' seeking treble damages. All of that is the filing's claim, not an adjudicated fact. The fight is over Compass's 'See It First' phased-marketing strategy for private and office-exclusive listings. In the same-day news release, Compass said it will pay all CRMLS fines incurred by agents at its company-owned brokerages for marketing homes outside CRMLS at a client's written direction. CRMLS CEO Art Carter responded that the rules 'support fair competition' and that the MLS will 'vigorously defend' them. Inman first reported the filing.

Why it matters

This is the distribution war's latest front — where your listing is allowed to live. Whatever the court decides, the near-term reality for California agents is a two-track marketplace: MLS and off-MLS marketing side by side. Know your brokerage's stance and your MLS's fine schedule before advising a seller to pick a lane, because the fines are real even while the legality is being litigated.

Source: Real Estate News — report (Oct 16) ↗

NewMarketing Stack

Senators Booker and Warren urge the FTC to investigate portal 'contact agent' buttons and undisclosed commission-sharing

On October 15, Senators Cory Booker (D-NJ) and Elizabeth Warren (D-MA) sent a letter to FTC Chair Andrew Ferguson urging investigation of three practices by dominant online real-estate platforms: undisclosed commission-sharing via 'contact agent' buttons that can route buyers to platform-affiliated agents who remit commission shares back to the platform; steering of buyers to affiliated mortgage lenders charging higher rates and worse terms, without disclosure; and anticompetitive private-listing practices that keep inventory off public view. The letter follows the FTC's August 24, 2026 stipulated order requiring Redfin to reenter the online rental-listing market after Zillow paid it to shut down its internet rental listing service. It cites a median home price of about $434,900 with monthly mortgage payments of $2,199 (roughly 25% of median monthly income), a median first-time-buyer age of 40, and a study finding mortgage shoppers saved $80,000 on average over the loan's life. All figures are senator-cited, not independently verified.

Why it matters

This letter is the policy-level version of the CPC portal study from Issue #008 — and it names the exact buttons your clients click. Read it as a script for buyer consultations: explain what a portal 'contact agent' button actually does, what your own buyer-agent relationship looks like, and why shopping a mortgage matters. If the FTC moves, disclosure rules change; until then, the agent who explains the fine print first owns the trust.

Source: U.S. Senate — press release (Oct 15) ↗

NewMarketing Stack

The Agency puts listings on digital screens in its own offices — storefront distribution, updated in real time

The Agency has partnered with Smartify Media to install a digital out-of-home advertising network at select brokerage offices — launched at its California offices in La Jolla, Malibu, Berkeley, and Healdsburg — letting agents update listing displays in real time and replacing static signage. The company says the screens also create advertising inventory in its storefronts, giving participating offices a chance to earn revenue from premium brand campaigns. Covered in Real Estate News's October 16 Tech Bytes roundup; all capability and revenue claims are company statements.

Why it matters

A small, boutique-brokerage story — but the direction is worth noting: distribution is returning to physical space, and the screen in the office window is becoming a live channel you can sell. For most agents this is a 'watch what the luxury boutiques do first' item, not a buy signal. The deeper point: every brokerage is quietly becoming a media network.

Source: Real Estate News — Tech Bytes (Oct 16) ↗

A robot assistant made of chat bubbles holding a telephone handset, its voice waveforms flowing into an open book of client profiles
03

Win the client

Turn attention into relationships, and relationships into commissions.

3 stories

NewMarketing Stack

Real Geeks AI Connect hands your website updates to your favorite chatbot

Real Geeks unveiled AI Connect, letting agents link their preferred AI chatbot to their Real Geeks website and hand off updates in plain language: rewriting copy, creating pages and blog posts, editing text, and working on navigation, sidebars, footers, design, settings, and the file browser, per the company's blog post. The company stresses the agent stays 'in control': 'AI Connect removes the technical busywork, not your judgment.' Co-founder Kevin McCarthy's claim that Real Geeks is 'the only real estate IDX software' you can hook an AI agent to for building or editing web pages is a vendor superlative — not independently verified, and plausibly overstated in a week when three other vendors shipped AI-connector plays. Covered in Real Estate News's October 16 Tech Bytes roundup.

Why it matters

Another data point for the bring-your-own-AI theme running through Issues #007 and #008: the scarce asset is the data connection, not the model. If you run your site on Real Geeks, the test is obvious — have your chatbot rewrite a stale neighborhood page and check every claim before it goes live. The pattern across the whole section: your AI assistant is becoming the remote control for your business software; audit what each connection can touch before you hand it the keys.

Source: Real Estate News — Tech Bytes (Oct 16) ↗

NewMarketing Stack

CINC Call AI puts AI voice agents on lead follow-up — with live transfers to humans

AI voice company Flair Labs has partnered with CINC (Commissions Inc.) to deploy its AI calling inside CINC's lead platform as CINC Call AI, HousingWire reported on October 16. The product calls new and high-intent leads, holds natural qualifying conversations about timeline and motivation, and live-transfers ready prospects to an agent; call transcripts are logged so agents can tailor follow-up. CINC chief product officer Jeff Walker reframes the strategy as 'speed to signal' — acting when lead behavior indicates readiness — rather than just 'speed to lead.' Flair previously deployed its AI voice agents in mortgage, through a West Capital Lending partnership announced in July. HousingWire also interviewed a practitioner: The Yeatman Group (a Long & Foster team), which uses AI calling on very cold leads to re-engage them and book appointments before handing off to humans — noting most cold leads responded, but some showed 'AI fatigue' and wouldn't engage. No pricing disclosed. The CINC network figure (50,000+ agents) and effectiveness claims come from the companies.

Why it matters

Voice is the last lead-follow-up channel AI hadn't colonized, and the transcript-logging design is the right one: the AI's job is to surface signal, the human's job is the conversation. Two questions before adopting: does your state require two-party consent on recorded calls (many do — check with your broker), and what happens to your brand when a lead realizes mid-conversation the voice isn't human? The Yeatman Group's 'alongside humans, hand off fast' model is the template.

Source: HousingWire — report (Oct 16) ↗

NewMarketing Stack

PropertyRadar opens an MCP connection — query 160M property and owner records from ChatGPT or Claude

On October 19, PropertyRadar launched an MCP connection letting users research properties, markets, and owners inside the AI assistant they already use. Per the company's release: search property and owner data across 300-plus criteria — for example, 'how many homeowners in my ZIP have owned 10+ years, have 50%+ equity, and are over 65?' — with counts, property summaries, and saved audiences free; the connection ships on every paid plan starting at $99/mo with no additional cost. Coverage claims: 160M+ U.S. properties across 3,000+ counties, 30-plus distress signals, and 'Likely' sell/refinance/buy scores. The release also cautions that businesses remain responsible for privacy, consent, calling, and texting rules. All figures and capabilities are company claims (EIN Presswire release); the company notes it is not affiliated with or endorsed by OpenAI or Anthropic.

Why it matters

Three MCP launches in one week (Real Geeks for your website, BoldTrail in Issue #008 for your CRM, PropertyRadar for prospecting data) — the open-connector era is now the default assumption, not the experiment. For prospecting, the free counts-and-audiences tier is the no-risk way to test: ask the questions you currently pay a data pull for, and compare answers before you trust it. And the release's own privacy-consent reminder is the one line to read twice — the data is only as compliant as your outreach.

Source: PropertyRadar — company release (Oct 19) ↗

∞

By the numbers

One dataset worth your attention this week.

1 story

NewVideo & Visual

2.34M virtual-tour sessions: 45% end on the first scene — and that's fine

An October 19 Inman data piece analyzes roughly 2.34 million tour sessions over 30 days from one tour platform's backend. The distribution is U-shaped: 45% of sessions ended on the first scene; 27% opened 11 or more scenes — 'a first showing, done from the couch.' Devices: 67% of sessions on a phone, 30% desktop, under 3% tablet. The author's read: one group glances, one group shops seriously, and the opening scene is doing the job of the lead photo — too often it's just the hallway where the capture started. Note: this is one provider's data (the company isn't named), not an industry-wide census; treat it as directional.

45%

of 2.34M tour sessions ended on the first scene — one tour platform's 30-day data, not an industry census

27%

opened 11+ scenes — the deep viewers are effectively doing a first showing from the couch

67% phone

of tour sessions happened on a phone; 30% desktop, under 3% tablet

Pick scene one

the practical takeaway: choose your opening scene deliberately — it does the job of your lead photo, and too often it's just the hallway where the capture started

Source: Inman — data analysis (Oct 19) ↗

One idea · 1 min

One idea

Worth stealing before Monday.

“Every new AI capability arrived with a leash.”

This week's stories pair up like matched luggage. Kling 4.0 can turn a listing photo into a 30-second video — and D.C. wants every AI-edited photo disclosed with the original attached. Compass will pay its agents' MLS fines to market homes off-MLS — and Senators Booker and Warren want the FTC to police exactly the 'contact agent' buttons those homes compete with. Your chatbot can now edit your website, your AI voice agent can call your leads, your assistant can query 160 million property records — and each of those connections needs a disclosure, a consent check, or a human in the loop. The pattern isn't that AI is dangerous or that regulation is killing it; it's that capability and accountability are being shipped on the same release cycle. The winners won't be the agents with the most AI, or the most cautious ones. They'll be the ones who keep a ledger: every new capability on one side, the disclosure and review step it requires on the other.

This week, open your own stack and make the ledger: for every AI tool that touches a client, a listing, or a lead, write down the disclosure, consent, or human-review step that goes with it. Label one AI-generated video, audit one chatbot website edit, listen to one AI-call transcript. The capability is free or cheap; the ledger is what keeps it yours.

Editorial disclosure: NanaStack is independent. Nothing in this issue is sponsored. Vendor and company claims are reported from the cited sources and are not independently tested: Kling AI's user and enterprise figures (100M+ users, 50,000+ enterprise customers) are company claims; per-generation pricing for Kling 4.0 was not disclosed at launch. Leo Robles's compliance guidance is a practitioner's reading, not legal advice. Real Geeks co-founder Kevin McCarthy's 'only IDX software' claim is a vendor superlative, not independently verified. CINC's 50,000+ agent network figure and Flair Labs' effectiveness claims are company statements; the practitioner interview in HousingWire is independent on-the-record color. PropertyRadar's coverage, criteria, and pricing claims (160M+ properties, 300+ criteria, from $99/mo) are company claims from its press release. Compass's fine-level and 'hundreds of millions of dollars in harm' claims are allegations in active litigation, not adjudicated facts. The Senators' letter's figures (median price ~$434,900, $80,000 mortgage-shopping savings) are senator-cited. The virtual-tour statistics are from one unnamed tour platform's backend, as published by Inman, and are directional, not an industry census. The Agency and Smartify Media's screen-network claims are company statements.